Counting of votes of Birgunj Metropolitan City

Counting of votes of Birgunj Metropolitan City

Counting of votes in the only Birgunj Metropolitan City of Madhes has started on Saturday afternoon. Chief Election Officer Dharmaraj Poudel said that the counting of votes has started at 3:15 pm on Saturday at the polling station at Nrusinha Secondary School in Pipra, Ward No. 14 of Birgunj Metropolitan City.

He informed that counting of votes has been started in Ward No. 1, Ward No. 2, Ward No. 31 and Ward No. 32 of Birgunj Municipal Corporation. The all-party meeting held on Saturday morning decided to start counting of votes from 11 am but the counting started late.

The counting of votes in Ward No. 1 was postponed for a while due to a dispute between the party representatives. The counting of votes in the other three wards is underway, said Chief Election Officer Poudel.

Counting is underway at all local levels of Parsa district, which has 14 local bodies. In Ward No. 1 of Dhobini village municipality of Parsa, Bandhusah Teli of Nepali Congress has been elected as the ward chairperson with 574 votes. His rival Lalan Raut Kurmi of Janata Samajwadi Party got 477 votes.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *